2013 World Tourism Awards Presented to Born Free Foundation; Fiona Jeffery, OBE, Founder & Chairman, Just a Drop; and Skål International

Published on : Wednesday, November 6, 2013

World Responsible Tourism Awards 2013The 2013 World Tourism Awards presented to Born Free Foundation; Fiona Jeffery, OBE, Founder & Chairman, Just a Drop; and Skål International on Monday, November 4, 2013, in a ceremony at World Travel Market, ExCeL Centre, London.


The World Tourism Awards celebrated its 16thAnniversary. It was presented by co-sponsors Corinthia Hotels, represented by Fiona Harris, Director of International PR; Delta Air Lines, represented by Nadia Clinton, Sales Manager, UK; The New York Times Global, represented by Patrick M. Falconer, Managing Director – UK, Northern Europe, Middle East and Africa, and Reed Travel Exhibitions, represented by Craig Moyes, Portfolio Director, Leisure Travel Portfolio.


On behalf of Born Free Foundation, Virginia McKenna OBE, Actress, and Founder, accepted the award together with Will Travers OBE, CEO, Born Free Foundation. The award honoured Born Free Foundation, in appreciation of “its impact on wildlife conservation by supporting projects that protect animals, as well as teach local communities how to live peacefully with these animals, thereby ensuring the enjoyment of wildlife in their natural habitat for generations to come.”


The second award honoured Fiona Jeffery, OBE, Founder & Chairman of Just a Drop, in recognition for “her charitable vision in launching an international travel industry charity, that in just 15 years, has provided life sustaining clean water and brighter futures for an estimated 1.5 million children and their families in 31 countries worldwide.”


Skål International was awarded in recognition of “its leadership in encouraging responsible tourism practices in the travel and tourism industry through its Sustainable Tourism Award program; as well as being a role model of supporting local communities following natural disasters.” on behalf of SKAL International, Karine Coulanges, President, and Mok Singh, Immediate Past President, accepted the award.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

arrow2Follow TTW
facebook-logo  twitter-logo  LinkedIn_logo  stumbleupon-logo   rss_logo 
ttw_blogger_logo  ttw_blogger_logo  ttw_blogger_logo


  • 02 wtm_london17
  • 04 AIME 2018
  • 12 indywood 17
  • 16 TT Warsaw 2017
  • 18 TTF17
  • 19 Emitt 18
  • 19 IITM
  • 43 PATA


Get our toolbar!
Review www.travelandtourworld.com on alexa.com