ASTA Statement on Passage of Maryland Hotel Tax Bill

Published on : Friday, January 22, 2016

ASTAAmerican Society of Travel Agents (ASTA) President and CEO Zane Kerby issues this statement regarding the Maryland General Assembly’s vote today to “override” Governor Larry Hogan’s May 2015 veto of Senate Bill (SB) 190, a bill which exposes the fees charged by travel agents for Maryland hotel bookings to the state’s six percent sales tax and threatens new administrative burdens for agencies:

“ASTA is disappointed by the Maryland General Assembly’s vote to override Governor Hogan’s veto of SB 190, a bill which on its face will impose new taxes on fees charged by travel agents for services provided to their clients. When it comes to implementing this new law, the devil is in the details. ASTA will keep a close watch on state taxing authorities in the coming weeks and months and report back to our members as necessary.

“We can’t win every fight, but we are heartened by the response of our Maryland members to our multiple calls to action over the past year – nearly 500 advocacy messages sent to legislators, as well as dozens of phone calls and in-person meetings. In particular, we wish to recognize ASTA Vice Chairman Jay Ellenby of Safe Harbors Travel in Bel Air, Karen Dunlap of Travel-On in Laurel and Bill Cleveland of Antietam Travel Service in Frederick for their exemplary efforts to support our industry against long odds. We also want to thank Governor Hogan and supportive legislators such as Del. Kathy Szeliga (R-Baltimore/Harford County) for their backing through this process.

“As the national trade association for travel agents of all shapes and sizes, we remain committed to fighting against new taxes and red tape on the independent travel distribution channel upon which so many of our fellow citizens rely.”


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

arrow2Follow TTW
facebook-logo  twitter-logo  LinkedIn_logo  stumbleupon-logo   rss_logo 
ttw_blogger_logo  ttw_blogger_logo  ttw_blogger_logo


  • 01 AIME 2018 BB
  • 02 WTM 2017
  • 03 EMITT 2018
  • 04 AIME-2018 small
  • 05 iitmindia 2017
  • 06 imtm 2018
  • 06 TTF-Surat 2017
  • 07 balttour 2018
  • 08 OTM 2018
  • 30 PATA


Get our toolbar!
Review on