ATEC Annual Tourism Industry Award Winners

Published on : Thursday, December 3, 2015

ATECThe export tourism industry has recognised some of its high achievers during the annual Australian Tourism Export Council (ATEC) Award Ceremony, with awards for the most outstanding contribution by individual, young leader of the year and other awards recognising outstanding industry commitment.


Presented by Minister for Tourism, Senator the Hon Richard Colbeck, this year’s Captain Trevor Haworth Outstanding Contribution by an Individual to the Tourism Export Industry was won by Craig Wickham from Exceptional Kangaroo Island. Mr Wickham has been instrumental in strengthening the tourism offering on the island and has previously been named one of the top five travel guides in the world according to adventure travel company OutsideGo.


“Craig has a long history of providing exceptional service to the tourism industry and is particularly passionate about providing a tourism experience which is sustainable and environmentally responsible,” ATEC Chairman, Denis Pierce said.


“His focus on marketing, quality control and delivery of exceptional experiences, coupled with dedication to nature and wildlife, drives his service culture.


“He loves to tell authentic stories about Australia and is passionate about our country, giving endlessly of his time to others – he is an inspiration to our industry.”


As a highly committed and passionate member of the tourism, Carla Phillips of Zoos Victoria has been recognised for her work with the Len Taylor Young ATEC Award for Leadership.


“Carla has made contributions across the private, public and Not For Profit sectors in the tourism industry from volunteering with the clean up after the 2011 floods at Wilsons Promontory in Gippsland, to her leadership roles in the workplace and her continuing workplace education.


“She is a wonderful example of the passion and drive of individuals in our industry and is an active and enthusiastic member of Young ATEC, where she holds the role of National Chair, allowing her to share her experience and ideas with other members.


Further awards included Outstanding Contribution by an Individual to ATEC award which went to Michael Nelson of Pinnacle Tourism Marketing and Branch of the Year which was awarded to the Australian Capital Territory.


“Michael is a successful businessman, a passionate ambassador of our industry both here and overseas, and has occupied senior roles within some of Australia’s most iconic tourism products for over 15 years,” Mr Pierce said.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

arrow2Follow TTW
facebook-logo  twitter-logo  LinkedIn_logo  stumbleupon-logo   rss_logo 
ttw_blogger_logo  ttw_blogger_logo  ttw_blogger_logo


  • 01 AIME 2018 BB
  • 02 WTM 2017
  • 03 EMITT 2018
  • 04 AIME-2018 small
  • 05 iitmindia 2017
  • 06 imtm 2018
  • 06 TTF-Surat 2017
  • 07 balttour 2018
  • 30 PATA


Get our toolbar!
Review on