China implements 144 hour visa-free transit policy

Published on : Saturday, January 5, 2019

 Travellers from 53 countries can stay visa-free in China for almost a week in five more cities as the nation opens up for stopovers.



The cities include Qingdao which is a major port city in Shandong Province; Xiamen, a coastal city in Fujian Province; Wuhan, capital of Hubei Province; Chengdu, capital of Sichuan Province; and Kunming, capital of Yunnan Province. Travellers from Qingdao will be permitted to travel elsewhere in the Shadong province.



Approved by the State Council the visa-free transit policy is applicable to countries including Austria, Belgium, Czech, Denmark, France, Germany, Russia and the United States.




There should be a proof of onward travel to a third country that can include Hong Kong and Macau while travellers must arrive from one destination.


Chinese cities including Shanghai, Beijing, Guangzhou and Shenzhen already applies the policy of visa-free transit for a period of six days.



In 2013 the visa-free transit policy was first introduced by the government in order to boost tourism permitting the travellers from 53 countries including the UK, to stopover in the city for a defined time period without obtaining a Chinese visa.




Hainan located off the southern coast of China in South China Sea allows a visa-free travel for Brits for up to 30 days and has a different policy.




A cost of £85 for one entry into China remains applicable for British residents and it involves a protracted process at a visa application centre. Here, the fingerprints are also taken, in the year 2017 almost 600,000 British travellers visited mainland China.

Related Posts

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

arrow2Follow TTW
facebook-logo  twitter-logo  LinkedIn_logo  stumbleupon-logo   rss_logo 
ttw_blogger_logo  ttw_blogger_logo  ttw_blogger_logo


  • 05 itb-asia 2019
  • 14 Hotelierseries Africa 2019
  • 18 HMIS 2019
  • 20 uzakrota Istanbul 2019
  • 22 DRT SHOW India 2019
  • 22 iitm 2020
  • 22 summitasia 2019
  • 30 PATA



      October 15 - October 17
    2. ITB Asia

      October 16 - October 18

      October 16 - October 18
    4. Deluxe Travel Market Latvia

      October 17

      October 18 - October 20
Get our toolbar!
Review on