Gala held to award best in ski tourism

Published on : Sunday, November 17, 2013

download (2)World Ski Awards has recognised the best in global ski tourism industry during its inaugural Gala Ceremony at A-ROSA Kitzbühel, Austria Saturday evening. The ceremony, attended by 200 handpicked guests, saw the title of World’s Best Ski Resort go to Val Thorens (France), while Bighorn, Revelstoke (Canada) took World’s Best Ski Chalet, Aurelio Lech (Austria) won World’s Best Ski Boutique Hotel and World’s Best Ski Hotel went to The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch (USA).In a special presentation at the end of the evening, the WSA Academy presented a unique trophy for Outstanding Services to Ski Tourism to Dr Josef Burger, chief executive of the Bergbahn AG Kitzbühel.

Taking place over the weekend of November 15th-17th in Austria’s legendary winter sports destination, guests are taking part in a three-day programme of extensive networking events, dinners, and exclusive ski experience activities.Ski tourism and market leaders from North America, Europe Asia, South America and Australasia were in attendance as the World Ski Awards winners were unveiled this evening.

Sion Rapson, managing director, World Ski Awards, said: “The reaction to this – our inaugural event – has been phenomenal. Hundreds of thousands travel professionals and skiers across the globe have voted for their favourite resorts, chalets and hotels. Tonight’s winners can take enormous pride – they have been voted the finest in class.

“On behalf of World Ski Awards, I would like to offer my sincere thanks to the ski tourism figureheads and market leaders who have joined us this weekend. From here in Austria all the way to Japan, Australia and Canada, our winners represent the best in ski from every corner of the globe.World Ski Awards is the sister organisation of World Travel Awards, which are known as “the Oscars of the travel industry”.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

arrow2Follow TTW
facebook-logo  twitter-logo  LinkedIn_logo  stumbleupon-logo   rss_logo 
ttw_blogger_logo  ttw_blogger_logo  ttw_blogger_logo


  • 02 wtm_london17
  • 04 AIME 2018
  • 12 indywood 17
  • 16 TT Warsaw 2017
  • 18 TTF17
  • 19 Emitt 18
  • 19 IITM
  • 43 PATA


Get our toolbar!
Review on