ITB Book Awards 2014 at Messe Berlin

Published on : Friday, November 8, 2013

ITB BerlinPreparations for the ITB Book Awards 2014 are under way. To whet appetites for this coming travel season, the event opens with an award for next year’s travel calendar featuring the best images, chosen by ITB Berlin in cooperation with the RavensBuch bookstore from Friedrichshafen.
Commenting on this year’s winners David Ruetz, head of ITB Berlin, said: “With its calendar entitled ’ReiseWelten 2014’ the Ackermann Kunstverlag invites us to go on a spectacularly colourful armchair journey around the world which takes in the fascinating diversity of the countries and peoples of the world. Artistic photography combined with brief and informative descriptions offer an insight into cultures, traditions, handicrafts and religions, which make us yearn for faraway destinations.“ The folding calendar also received special praise, whose design and composition providing overall page views was very well received. The Ackermann calendar opens with a January 2014 picture of Greenland, and in February takes us to the land of the pharaohs in ancient Egypt. In March we can marvel at the beauty of “blue Morocco“ and in April admire Peru, the land of the Incas. In May we continue on to Japan, in June to Kenya, and in July to Tibet. August takes us to India, September to Yemen, October to Australia, and November to Cambodia, while December takes us back to Norway in the far north and to the ice-bound home of the Sami people. David Ruetz: “This work is a calendar that lets us long for harmony on our planet and for the beautiful things that live inside us.“
Together with the jury’s selection of other awards – for the best traditional travel guides, travel books, illustrated books and publishing innovations – the Calendar Award will be presented at the world’s largest travel trade show in March 2014 in Berlin. The Destination Awards 2014 will focus on Brazil as a travel destination.
Chairing the jury of the ITB Book Awards 2014 will be Astrid Zand (ITB Berlin). Other members include:
• Eckart Baier (editor-in-chief, Buchjournal)
• Cornelia Camen (editorial department, BuchMarkt)
• Armin Herb (jury spokesman, editorial offices, Armin Herb)
• Martina Kraus (RavensBuch)
• Burghard Rauschelbach (independent consultant for sustainable tourism, GIZ)
• Gerd W. Seidemann (travel desk, Der Tagesspiegel)
• Michael Zehender (dpa Themendienst)
Jury members presiding over other categories:
• “Brazil as a Travel Destination“, Karl Mertes (journalist),Regine Kiepert (Schropp Land & Karte)
• Travel Guides, Travel Books, Travel Cook Books, Lifetime Achievements, Margrit Philipp (Büro Philipp)
The presentation of the ITB Book Awards 2014 will take place on Friday, 7 March 2014 at 4 p.m. at the cinema in the Marshall Haus (Berlin Exhibition Grounds, Summer Garden)


Source:- ITB Berlin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

arrow2Follow TTW
facebook-logo  twitter-logo  LinkedIn_logo  stumbleupon-logo   rss_logo 
ttw_blogger_logo  ttw_blogger_logo  ttw_blogger_logo


  • 02 wtm_london17
  • 04 AIME 2018
  • 12 indywood 17
  • 16 TT Warsaw 2017
  • 18 TTF17
  • 19 Emitt 18
  • 19 IITM
  • 43 PATA


Get our toolbar!
Review on