Mackay tourism board gets four new members

Published on : Wednesday, October 25, 2017

Mackay tourismMackay Tourism board has received four new people; re-elected chairman Rob Porter said that it was “an exciting time”, as tourism becomes one of the most important industries in the region.

Michele Shea from the Old Station Tea House, Judy Langdon from Hay Point Bed & Breakfast, Paul Kelly from Kelly Legal and Bayden Matheson from Aero Care Flight Services were the new people joining the board.

Long-serving board member Ron Ailwood, director of the Sarina Tourist Art and Craft Centre, resigned from his position on the board and was felicitated by the board for his contributions. Racheal Klitscher (Tourism & Events Queensland), Deanne Woolcock (Caneland Central) and Scott Rebgetz (Big 4 Mackay Marine Tourist Park) also resigned from the board after making positive contributions.

The Annual General Meeting also provided an opportunity to look back at the achievements of Mackay Tourism over the past 12 months.

Mackay Tourism general manager Tas Webber, who has worked closely with board, staff and stakeholders, has led a successful campaign to make tourism one of the most important industries in Mackay.

Mr. Webber said, “Thanks to the support and collaboration with key stakeholders like the Mackay Regional Council, Isaac Regional Council, Tourism & Events Queensland and Mackay Airport, Mackay Tourism has gone from strength to strength and have been able to implement some necessary changes over a 12-month period.”

Some of those changes include an organizational restructure, new business and marketing and communication plans, membership remodelling, increase in funding, and plans for expansion of the Visitor Information Centre services.

Chairman and Mackay Airport general manager Rob Porter looked forward to working with the new board members to drive tourism in the right direction.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

arrow2Follow TTW
facebook-logo  twitter-logo  LinkedIn_logo  stumbleupon-logo   rss_logo 
ttw_blogger_logo  ttw_blogger_logo  ttw_blogger_logo


  • 02 WTM London 2018
  • 03 imexamerica 2018
  • 03 ITB Asia 2018
  • 09 ttfotm 2018
  • 10 Astana leisure 2018
  • 11 lodgingconference 18
  • 11 ttgincontri 2018
  • 12 plannersxtraordinaire 2018
  • 13 aite 2018
  • 13 bitf 2018
  • 13 TTWarsaw 2018
  • 14 Global Wellness Summit 2018
  • 14 SATTE 2019
  • 14 traveltechme 2018
  • 18 hospitalityqatar 18
  • 18 Hotel Management Asia Summit 2018
  • 20 CITE_TTW 2018
  • 30 PATA


Get our toolbar!
Review on