Marriott International’s Executive Chairman, J.W. Marriott, Jr. Named as EY Entrepreneur of the Year® 2016 Award Winner

Published on : Monday, June 20, 2016

4 J.W.Marriott, Jr., Executive Chairman and Chairman of the Board of Marriott International, has been chosen by EY, one of the largest international accounting firms, to receive the 2016 EY Entrepreneur of the Year® Award in the Family Business category in the Mid-Atlantic region. The EY Entrepreneur of the Year Award program celebrated its 30th anniversary. EY selected J.W. Marriott, Jr. for pursuing business excellence and his achievement in innovation, fiscal growth and serving his company and community. A panel of judges identified the Executive Chairman as an exemplary model of these characteristics and presented him the award at their gala held at Ritz Carlton, Tysons Corner on June 15, 2016.



Bill Marriott accepting 2016 EY Entrepreneur of the Year® Award Download
Bill Marriott accepting 2016 EY Entrepreneur of the Year® Award
“I am proud to be chosen for this great honor from EY,” said J.W. Marriott, Jr. “At Marriott, we lead by example and encourage innovation, which fuels our growth in a competitive industry. This award represents the passion and pride I have in our company. That is why this is award is so meaningful to me.”


As a Mid-Atlantic award winner, EY will consider J.W. Marriott, Jr. for recognition for the Entrepreneur of the Year 2016 national program. National award winners will be announced at the Entrepreneur of the Year National Awards gala in Palm Springs, California, on November 19, 2016. The awards are the culminating event of the Strategic Growth ForumTM, the nation’s most prestigious gathering of high-growth, market-leading companies. The US Entrepreneur of the Year Overall Award winner then moves on to compete for the World Entrepreneur of the Year Award in Monaco in June 2017.


Since 1986, EY has honored entrepreneurs whose ingenuity, spirit of innovation and discipline have propelled their companies’ success, invigorated their industries, and benefited their communities. Now in its 30th year, the program has honored the inspirational leadership of such entrepreneurs as Howard Schultz of Starbucks Coffee Company, Robert Unanue of Goya Foods, and Mindy Grossman of HSN. Recent US national winners include Reid Hoffman and Jeff Weiner of LinkedIn; Hamdi Ulukaya, founder of Chobani; and 2015 winners Andreas Bechtolsheim and Jayshree Ullal of Arista Networks.



Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

arrow2Follow TTW
facebook-logo  twitter-logo  LinkedIn_logo  stumbleupon-logo   rss_logo 
ttw_blogger_logo  ttw_blogger_logo  ttw_blogger_logo


  • 01 AIME 2018 BB
  • 02 WTM Latin America 2018
  • 04 AIME-2018 small
  • 05 itb-china 2018
  • 06 Central & Eastern Europe 2018
  • 06 TTF-2018
  • 08 mice-arabia 18
  • 09 JTTX 2018
  • 09 The hotel shows audiarabia 18
  • 10 hotelfair 2018
  • 10 miceforum 18
  • 11 Digital Travel 2018
  • 11 Hotelex-Shanghai 18
  • 12 mitt 18
  • 13 aitf 2018
  • 30 PATA


Get our toolbar!
Review on