The Miami Dade College Museum of Art + Design and the CINTAS Foundation have announced the ongoing 2015-2016 CINTAS Foundation Award in Creative Writing.

Published on : Tuesday, June 2, 2015

downloadMarking its 51st year, the one-of-a-kind competition serves as a platform to promote and support visual artists, writers, architects and composers of Cuban descent from across the globe. Aside from a monetary prize, CINTAS fellows also carry the prestige that accompanies such an award.

CINTAS Foundation has granted its fellowships and its prestigious recognition to Cuban artists, composers, creative writers and architects, assisting them in their work often at critical times in their careers.

“CINTAS Fellows offer elements of creative writing which are rich in characters and plot as well as dialogue. Their forms range from autobiographies/memoirs to novels, to poetry and playwriting,” said Hortensia Sampedro, President of CINTAS Foundation. “They are recipients of numerous prizes and honors including Pulitzer, Faulkner, Schupes, Neruda and Newbery among others. We are proud to support them.”

In addition to supporting Cuban writers, many early in their careers, the CINTAS Foundation also maintains a growing collection of works by past awardees and other esteemed Cuban artists.

Past Creative Writing Fellows include:
Oscar Hijuelos whose Pulitzer Prize-winning book, The Mambo Kings Play Songs of Love, was made into a film starring Armand Assante and Antonio Banderas, has won a Breadloaf Writers Conference scholarship as well as grants from the Creative Artists Programs Service, the Ingram Merrill Foundation and the National Endowment for the Arts.

Adrian Castro is the recipient of fellowships and awards from the state of Florida, New Forms Florida, the Academy of American Poets and NALAC, and has had commissions from Miami Light Project and the Miami Art Museum.

Achy Obejas, whose second novel, Days of Awe, was selected for the Los Angeles Times’ Best Books of 2001 list. She is the recipient of numerous awards, including the Studs Terkel and the Peter Lisagor awards in journalism and the Lambda Literary Awards.

Daniel Castro is a Dean’s Graduate Fellow in Fiction who won the Schupes Prize for Excellence in Fiction and the Novella Prize from the Faulkner Society
José Kozer has published more than 30 books of poetry, including Padres y otras profesiones, Y así tomaron posesión en las ciudades, El carillón de los muertos, Trazas del lirondo, Et mutabile and Una huella destartalada. In 2013, he won the Pablo Neruda Ibero-American Poetry Prize.

Margarita Engel is the winner of a Pura Belpré Medal and the San Diego Book, Newbery Honor, Americas and Jane Addams awards.

MDC Museum of Art + Design will host a variety of events to showcase the works of this year’s finalists, including the Visual Arts Finalists exhibition. The awards announcement for Creative Writing will be made on Saturday, October 10, at MDC’s Freedom Tower.

The winner will receive a $10,000 award and the opportunity to complete the project outlined in his or her proposal and will be announced by CINTAS Foundation Board President, Hortensia E. Sampedro at the event.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

arrow2Follow TTW
facebook-logo  twitter-logo  LinkedIn_logo  stumbleupon-logo   rss_logo 
ttw_blogger_logo  ttw_blogger_logo  ttw_blogger_logo


  • 01 AIME 2018 BB
  • 02 WTM 2017
  • 03 EMITT 2018
  • 04 AIME-2018 small
  • 05 iitmindia 2017
  • 06 TTF-Surat 2017
  • 30 PATA


Get our toolbar!
Review on