Nominations invited for National Tourism Service Excellence Awards

Published on : Friday, December 15, 2017

indexThe Ministry of Tourism Jamaica is inviting stakeholders to submit nominations for the National Tourism Service Excellence Awards, which aims to honor individuals and organizations in the sector demonstrating best practices and offering excellent customer service.

Nominations for the awards will close on Friday, December 22, 2017 at 4:00 p.m. and are open to individuals and organizations serving the tourism sector across the island.
Speaking in an interview with JIS News, Executive Director at the Tourism Product Development Company (TPDCo), Dr. Andrew Spencer, said that the award is a component of the Tourism Service Excellence Awards Programme (TSEAP), which is implemented by TPDCo and financed by the Tourism Enhancement Fund (TEF).

Dr. Spencer pointed out that the programme is intended to select, showcase and award the best in service excellence, and establish internal benchmarks for the categories of businesses in the tourism industry.

To quote Dr. Spencer, “It (the programme) is geared towards unearthing and showcasing the best of our Jamaican people, as the best part of our product is the warmth of the people and the service, and so, the visitor experience is what will give us repeat business.”

“We boast a 42 per cent repeat business in tourism, and we want that to only go higher, because that is where we are able to secure a sustained market…so we just want to recognise the people who are doing well, and this will encourage those who look on to strive to be the next winner, and that is intended to bring our service level in the industry to an all new high,” Dr. Spencer added.

Under the programme, nominations will be accepted in categories like: Accommodation Staff, Craft Trader, Airport Staff, Tour Operator, Ground Transportation Operator, Raft Captain, Attraction Employee and Watersport Employee.

Nominations are also being accepted from the following fields: Accommodation (properties including hotels, villas, apartments and guest houses); Attractions and Places of Interest (business entities); Ground Transportation (business entities); Tour Operator (business entities); and Watersports Operator (business entities).

On March 3, 2018, the winners for both the individual and organization categories will be announced and awarded at the Montego Bay Convention Centre in St. James.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

arrow2Follow TTW
facebook-logo  twitter-logo  LinkedIn_logo  stumbleupon-logo   rss_logo 
ttw_blogger_logo  ttw_blogger_logo  ttw_blogger_logo


  • 02 AIME 2019
  • 03 AIME 2018
  • 05 ameistanbul 2019
  • 06 aviation-festival-asia 2019
  • 07 thehotelshowsaudiarabia 2019
  • 08 JTTX9 19
  • 09 Conventa 2019
  • 10 Asia Pacific 2019
  • 10 Hotel Management Thailand 2019
  • 10 OTM 2019
  • 10 Routes Americas 2019
  • 11 Bar and Restaurant Investment 19
  • 11 Digital Travel 2019
  • 13 ATRTCM 2019
  • 13 Food Hospitality2019
  • 16 EMITT 2019
  • 16 IITM 2019
  • 17 AITF 18
  • 18 UITT 2019


    1. MATKA 2019

      January 17 - January 20
    2. GO 2019

      January 17 - January 20
    3. BLTM Delhi

      January 18 - January 19

      January 18 - January 20

      January 19 - January 20
Get our toolbar!
Review on