Northern Territory opens nominations for ANZAC Spirit Study Tour

Published on : Friday, June 19, 2015

indexNorthern Territory Year 9 and 10 students are encouraged to apply for a chance to win a trip of a lifetime to France as part of the Chief Minister’s Anzac Spirit Study Tour.

Northern Territory Chief Minister Adam Giles said nominations for the annual awards are now open.


“Participating in the Chief Minister’s Anzac Spirit Study Tour is a once in a lifetime opportunity to honour an important part of Australia’s history,” Mr Giles said.


“This is a unique tour – the winners will travel to Villers-Bretonneux, France to attend the 2016 Anzac Day Dawn Service and undertake a seven to ten day tour of relevant battlefields in the area.


“The study tour aims to help keep the Anzac spirit alive; of showing continued support for the Australian Defence Force today and pride in the Anzacs who went before them.”
“In the past we have received essays, short documentaries, songs, poems and slideshows,” Mr Giles said.


One of last year’s winner’s 17-year-old tour participant, Stevie Pocock, from Darwin High School said the trip ‘has definitely made everything more real to me – the fact that the landing at Gallipoli happened and the phenomenal impact it had, even 100 years on.’
Students are required to submit their entries to their school by 14 August 2015. The schools will then forward their top nominations from each eligible year to the Department of the Chief Minister.


A panel of representatives from the Department of the Chief Minister, Department of Education, Defence and the RSL will then shortlist a group of finalists who will be interviewed by the panel.


“I look forward to announcing the winners of this tour later in the year,” Mr Giles said.
Three young Territorians will be selected as winners and in April 2016 will travel to France as representatives of the Northern Territory at the Villers-Bretonneux Anzac Day Dawn Service, along with one teacher and a chaperone from the Department of Defence.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

arrow2Follow TTW
facebook-logo  twitter-logo  LinkedIn_logo  stumbleupon-logo   rss_logo 
ttw_blogger_logo  ttw_blogger_logo  ttw_blogger_logo


  • 01 AIME 2018 BB
  • 02 WTM 2017
  • 03 EMITT 2018
  • 04 AIME-2018 small
  • 05 iitmindia 2017
  • 06 imtm 2018
  • 06 TTF-Surat 2017
  • 07 balttour 2018
  • 08 OTM 2018
  • 30 PATA


Get our toolbar!
Review on