Public transportation improved in NT for New Year’s Eve

Published on : Wednesday, December 30, 2015

Public transportation improved in NT for New Year’s EvePublic transport is the best way to travel to New Year’s Eve celebrations this year with Darwinbus providing a safe transport option to drinking and driving aver NYE celebration.


Acting Minister for Transport Willem Westra van Holthe said all Darwinbus services will be free from 6pm, 31 December and the special event buses will run until 6.30am, 1 January.


“It is important to play it safe, so use your head and plan ahead. Let the bus driver be your Sober Bob,” Mr Westra van Holthe said.


Route 14c from Darwin to the Waterfront has been extended to run every 15 minutes from 6pm New Year’s Eve to 1am New Year’s day.


The special event buses will depart from Mitchell St (via Darwin Interchange) at 15-minute intervals to Casuarina and 30-minute intervals to Palmerston.


The Casuarina, Palmerston and Darwin special event buses operating from each of the interchanges will pick-up and drop-off at all bus stops along the routes:


Ex Casuarina:

Darwin via Rapid Creek, Nightcliff and Fannie Bay

Darwin via Lee Point Rd, McMillans Rd and Bagot Rd

Casuarina to Palmerston via Leanyer, Karama, Vanderlin Drive and Stuart Highway

Ex Palmerston:

Palmerston to Darwin via Pinelands, Berrimah, Winnellie and Stuart Highway

Palmerston to Casuarina via Pinelands, Vanderlin Drive, Karama and Leanyer

Palmerston CONNECTOR via Gray, Bakewell, Rosebery, Bellamack, Woodroffe, Moulden and Driver

Ex Darwin: Mitchell Street & Darwin Interchange:

Darwin to Casuarina via Fannie Bay, Nightcliff and Rapid Creek

Darwin to Casuarina via Bagot Rd, McMillans Rd and Lee Point Rd

Darwin to Palmerston via Stuart Highway, Winnellie, Berrimah and Pinelands

Most urban bus services revert to normal timetables from about 7am on New Year’s day.

“I wish all Territorians and happy a safe New Year, please celebrate safely, look out for each other, and don’t let your mates drink and get behind the wheel,” Mr Westra van Holthe said.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

arrow2Follow TTW
facebook-logo  twitter-logo  LinkedIn_logo  stumbleupon-logo   rss_logo 
ttw_blogger_logo  ttw_blogger_logo  ttw_blogger_logo


  • 01 AIME 2018 BB
  • 02 WTM 2017
  • 03 EMITT 2018
  • 04 AIME-2018 small
  • 05 iitmindia 2017
  • 06 imtm 2018
  • 06 TTF-Surat 2017
  • 07 balttour 2018
  • 30 PATA


Get our toolbar!
Review on