Southwest Airlines Pilots Elect Captain Jon Weaks as Union President

Published on : Tuesday, January 5, 2016

southwest airlinesThe membership of the Southwest Airlines Pilots’ Association (SWAPA), in voting that closed Monday, elected Captain Jon Weaks as Union President to complete the remainder of the 2015-2016 term after Captain Paul Jackson resigned effective the end of December 2015. Capt. Weaks ran unopposed and received 95.7 percent of the vote in the election to represent more than 8,300 Southwest pilots. A Zephyr Cove, Nevada resident, Capt. Weaks has been a pilot at Southwest Airlines since 1990 and is currently based out of Las Vegas.


“I am excited to lead this pilot group in 2016 as we face a different Company mentality than we have seen over the years,” said Captain Weaks. “This upper management approach to labor has left us disillusioned and bewildered. Despite this, I can assure that what we ask of the Company is rational and justified. We want to give them ample opportunity to regain our trust.”


Capt. Weaks previously held the position of SWAPA President from 2001-2002 and was a domicile representative for Oakland pilots from 1998-1999 and for Las Vegas pilots in 2015.Weaks continued, “After three long years and record profits, a new contract is long overdue. We want to make flying for Southwest the first choice for every pilot, and we hope the Company does as well.”


Located in Dallas, Texas, the Southwest Airlines Pilots’ Association (SWAPA) is a non-profit employee organization representing the more than 8,300 pilots of Southwest Airlines. SWAPA works to provide a secure and rewarding career for Southwest pilots and their families through negotiating contracts, defending contractual rights and actively promoting professionalism and safety.


Source:-Southwest Airlines

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

arrow2Follow TTW
facebook-logo  twitter-logo  LinkedIn_logo  stumbleupon-logo   rss_logo 
ttw_blogger_logo  ttw_blogger_logo  ttw_blogger_logo


  • 01 AIME 2018 BB
  • 02 WTM 2017
  • 03 EMITT 2018
  • 04 AIME-2018 small
  • 05 iitmindia 2017
  • 06 TTF-Surat 2017
  • 30 PATA


Get our toolbar!
Review on