Summer Inspiration Starts Here: The Roof at Four Seasons Hotel Beirut is the Place to Live #LifeWithAView

Published on : Tuesday, June 2, 2015 Miami Dade College (MDC) Museum of Art + Design and the CINTAS Foundation have announced the ongoing 2015-2016 CINTAS Foundation Brandon Fradd Award in Music Composition.

All submission materials must be received by Wednesday, July 1, 2015.

Marking its 51st year, the one-of-a-kind competition serves as a platform to promote and support visual artists, writers, architects and composers of Cuban descent from across the globe. Aside from a monetary prize, CINTAS fellows also carry the prestige that accompanies such an award.

“CINTAS Fellows in Music Composition range from classical to contemporary, garnering many awards and recognition nationally and internationally. Music is a highly prolific discipline for Cubans and the result is seen in the widespread achievements of the fellows,” said Hortensia Sampedro, President of CINTAS Foundation.

In addition to supporting Cuban composers, many early in their careers, the CINTAS Foundation also maintains a growing collection of works by past awardees and other esteemed Cuban artists.

Past Music Composition Fellows include:
Tania Leon is a highly regarded composer and conductor recognized for her accomplishments as an educator and advisor to arts organizations. She has been the subject of profiles in independent films as well as on ABC, CBS, CNN, PBS, Telemundo and Univision including their noted series “Orgullo Hispano,” which celebrates living American Latinos whose contributions in society have been invaluable.

Ailem Carvajal holds a degree in composition from Cuba’s Institute of Advanced Studies and a diploma in experimental composition from the A. Boito Music Conservatory in Parma, Italy. She was also awarded first prize at the 2004 International Competition for Women Composers in Venice.

Jorge Martín was a recipient of a 2005 fellowship from the Bogliasco Foundation in Genoa,Italy. He received first prize in the National Opera Association’s Fifth Biennial Chamber Opera Competition in 1993 and an artist’s residency at Yaddo in Saratoga Springs. He is also the recipient of an American Academy of Arts and Letters’ Academy Award in Music and an ASCAP Standard Music Award.

Orlando Jacinto García has been awarded the Nuevas Resonancias and is the recipient of honors from institutions such as the American Composers Forum Sonic Circuits and the State of Florida Council of the Arts. He has also received several Rockefeller and Fulbright residencies and a fellowship from the Dutka Foundation.

Yosvany Terry studied music composition and orchestration at the Juilliard School and the New School for Music in New York. Terry has received commissions from the Ford Foundation, the Harlem Stage, the Jerome Foundation, the Map Fund, the Rockefeller Foundation and the Chamber Music America.

MDC Museum of Art + Design will host a variety of events to showcase the works of this year’s finalists, including the Visual Arts Finalists exhibition. The awards announcement for Music Composition will be made on Saturday, October 10, at MDC’s Freedom Tower.

The winner will receive a $10,000 award and the opportunity to complete the project outlined in his or her proposal. Winners will be announced by CINTAS Foundation Board President Hortensia E. Sampedro.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

arrow2Follow TTW
facebook-logo  twitter-logo  LinkedIn_logo  stumbleupon-logo   rss_logo 
ttw_blogger_logo  ttw_blogger_logo  ttw_blogger_logo


  • 01 AIME 2018 BB
  • 02 WTM 2017
  • 03 EMITT 2018
  • 04 AIME-2018 small
  • 05 iitmindia 2017
  • 06 imtm 2018
  • 06 TTF-Surat 2017
  • 07 balttour 2018
  • 08 OTM 2018
  • 30 PATA


Get our toolbar!
Review on