Swann Returns to England Line-Up

Published on : Wednesday, July 6, 2016

IAGTOFormer international cricketer Graeme Swann will pull on an England shirt again this summer – when he represents his country in a celebrity golf tournament at Celtic Manor.


Swann will play for a second time in the Celebrity Cup presented by Bulmers, having made his debut in the four nations competition in 2014 when he helped England win the trophy for the first time.


Swann is called up to a side captained by Mike Tindall and also featuring Anton du Beke, Peter Jones, Ben Shephard and Denise Van Outen. Comedian Lee Mack is no longer able to make his first appearance following a late change to his filming commitments.


The tournament takes place at the famous Ryder Cup venue at Celtic Manor on July 9-10 and will see England take on host nation and defending champions Wales as well as Scotland and Ireland.


Actor, comedian and writer Rob Brydon will lead Wales’ defence of the trophy, teaming up with Jonathan Davies, Sir Gareth Edwards, Phil Glenister, Ioan Gruffudd and Gethin Jones.


Scotland, the inaugural champions of 2013, have Hollywood actor Dougray Scott and Olympic silver medal winning swimmer Michael Jamieson joining international rugby stars Greig Laidlaw, Rory Lawson, Max Evans and Thom Evans.


Irish team captain Keith Duffy has been given special dispensation to increase his team to eight players as they bid to finish off the foot of the table and capture the title for the first time. The expanded team also includes Brian McFadden, Brendan O’Carroll, Danny O’Carroll, Shane Byrne, Ronnie Whelan, Laurence Kinlan and Brian Ormond.


With a reputation for being the first to the bar and the last to bed, the opportunity to rest one player from each round of action might well come in handy for the Irish.


Thousands of golf fans and celebrity spotters flocked to Celtic Manor in the sunshine to watch the stars up close last July.


As well as top-notch golfing action and on and off-course banter, there will be live music and food and bar outlets in the tented village, plus the opportunity to “Get Into Golf” in an interactive zone sponsored by Principality Building Society.


Visitors can also experience the VIP treatment in Hospitality or the Premier Lounge, or attend the glittering UFX.com gala dinner on Saturday evening. For information and tickets please visit the website, celtic-manor.com/the-celebrity-cup


England: Mike Tindall (captain), Anton du Beke, Peter Jones, Ben Shephard, Graeme Swann, Denise Van Outen
Ireland: Keith Duffy (captain), Shane Byrne, Laurence Kinlan, Brian McFadden, Brendan O’Carroll, Danny O’Carroll, Brian Ormond, Ronnie Whelan
Scotland: Rory Lawson (captain), Max Evans, Thom Evans, Michael Jamieson, Greig Laidlaw, Dougray Scott
Wales: Rob Brydon (captain), Jonathan Davies, Sir Gareth Edwards, Phil Glenister, Ioan Gruffudd, Gethin Jones


Source:- IAGTO

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

arrow2Follow TTW
facebook-logo  twitter-logo  LinkedIn_logo  stumbleupon-logo   rss_logo 
ttw_blogger_logo  ttw_blogger_logo  ttw_blogger_logo


  • 02 wtm_london17
  • 03 itb-asia 2017
  • 12 TTF17
  • 13 Frontiers Forum 2017
  • 14 bltm 2017
  • 15 questexevent 2017
  • 16 TT Warsaw 2017
  • 17 hospitalityqatar 17
  • 17 worldmiceday 2017
  • 18 worldmiceday 2017
  • 19 Emitt 18
  • 19 IITM
  • 43 PATA


Get our toolbar!
Review www.travelandtourworld.com on alexa.com