The Convention Industry Council Announces Hall of Leaders Honorees for 2013

Published on : Friday, April 12, 2013

Convention Industry CouncilThe Convention Industry Council (CIC) announces its newest inductees into the CIC Hall of Leaders and its second class of Pacesetter Award recipients. The inductees into the Hall represent influential leaders who have shaped the industry over a lifetime of accomplishments and whose contributions have left an indelible impression on the industry. In 2012, CIC also introduced the Pacesetter Awards, established to salute emerging leaders and industry supporters. Both will be inducted during the 2013 Hall of Leaders Gala to be held on October 13, 2013 in Las Vegas, prior to the IMEX America tradeshow.


“There is tremendous talent in our industry, and the 2013 class of Hall of Leaders clearly meets the criteria for this award; all have shown remarkable leadership and whose prolific work continues to advance the field,” said Karen Kotowski, CAE, CMP, Chief Executive Officer for the Convention Industry Council. “The Pacesetter winners are inspiring today’s industry professionals to achieve great things early in their careers and very well may be tomorrow’s Hall of Leaders.”


Nominations were submitted by CIC member organizations or the general industry community. Only those who have substantially contributed to the industry and whose efforts continue to shape it qualify for nomination into the CIC Hall of Leaders. A selection committee comprised of industry leaders and several Hall of Leaders inductees, representing all segments of the meetings industry, met this month to review the nominations and recommend honorees. The CIC Board of Directors then approved the slate proposed by the committee.


The 2013 Hall of Leaders honorees are (more detail on the honorees located below):


. Jorge Castex, Honorary President, COCAL and Senior Advisor MCI Argentina: Nominated by International Association of Professional Congress Organisers (IAPCO)
. Eduardo Chaillo, CMP, CMM: Nominated by International Congress and Convention Association (ICCA)
. Peggy Daidakis, Executive Director, Baltimore Convention Center: Nominated by the Baltimore Convention Center Staff
.Liz Erikson, Executive Director, Meetings & Incentives, Fairmont-Raffles-Swissotel: Nominated by Professional Convention Management Association (PCMA)
.Stephen Powell, Senior Vice President, Worldwide Sales, Intercontinental Hotels Group: Nominated by Meeting Professionals International (MPI)
As a part of the Hall of Leaders Gala, the CIC will be presenting two Pacesetters Awards in the Young Professionals category. This award recognizes individual excellence based on innovation, impact, vision, leadership, influence, collaboration, courage, perseverance, and other achievements in real time rather than over a life time.


The Pacesetters Award winners are Robyn Mietklewicz, Director, Accounts & Global Meeting Management Services, Meeting Sites Resources and Meghan Schilt, Events Manager, Apax Partners.


Source:- CIC

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

arrow2Follow TTW
facebook-logo  twitter-logo  LinkedIn_logo  stumbleupon-logo   rss_logo 
ttw_blogger_logo  ttw_blogger_logo  ttw_blogger_logo


  • 02 wtm_london17
  • 03 itb-asia 2017
  • 12 TTF17
  • 13 Frontiers Forum 2017
  • 14 bltm 2017
  • 15 questexevent 2017
  • 17 hospitalityqatar 17
  • 17 worldmiceday 2017
  • 18 worldmiceday 2017
  • 19 Emitt 18
  • 19 IITM
  • 43 PATA


Get our toolbar!
Review on