The very best East Midlands Trains staff recognised at annual Great Service Awards

Published on : Tuesday, December 1, 2015

East Midlands TrainsEast Midlands Trains staff from across the country and all parts of the business gathered in Nottingham on Friday 27th November for the East Midlands Trains Great Service Awards.


Now in their fourth year, the awards recognise staff who ‘go the extra mile’ and really make a difference to customers and improve the service on offer.


A record 1,616 nominations were received from customers and colleagues across 26 award categories. Each runner up and winner received a trophy and certificate presented by Jake Kelly, Managing Director of East Midlands Trains.


The main award of the night was the ‘Outstanding Individual’. It was hotly contested and received more than 900 nominations, demonstrating the fantastic service offered by so many East Midlands Trains staff across the country. However, the clear winner was Kim Cinavas from Sleaford station. Kim received more than 100 nominations from customers and colleagues, including supporting feedback such as:


“What a lady – she is just so helpful, to me and my daughter, never unfazed and so professional.”


“Outstanding service.”


“Knowledgeable, friendly, deserves this and much more.”


Kim Cinavas was also named the Ticket Office staff member of the year, the first time one person has won two awards on the same night.


Other notable winners included Wendy Cunningham, based in Derby, who received the Unsung Hero Award. The judges were particularly impressed with her work in helping to secure the East Midlands Trains franchise extension as well as the glowing feedback from the Department for Transport.


Karen Miller from Leicester station won the Outstanding Contribution to the Community Award. The judges were particularly impressed with Karen’s efforts to help charities and community groups, often outside her normal working hours and also at other stations besides Leicester. She has helped to numerous charities with everything from coffee mornings to cake stands in stations.


Kevin Arthur from Derby was named as Fleet Staff of the Year for his work to create new data systems to improve the reliability of trains, with much of that work done on his own time, in addition to the day job.


Over 90 nominations were received for Welcome Host of the Year – these staff greet nearly 70% of our customers and are often the first member of staff many customers will see when travelling with us. These staff are so important that East Midlands Trains is hiring more Welcome Hosts in the near future. The winner this year was Charlotte Cordner from Derby station.


Joy Iggleden from Nottingham was named Train Manager of the Year, for her excellent work on services to and from London St Pancras International .


Stephen Carlyle-Hearn, a senior conductor based in Norwich scooped the brand new ‘Voice of East Midlands Trains’ award which means he will be featured in station announcements across the East Midlands Trains network.


Liz Haynes, a greatly valued member of East Midlands Trains was also presented with a special Lifetime Contribution Award, in recognition of her fantastic service while working for East Midlands Trains and others in the railway industry for 33 years.


Jake Kelly, Managing Director for East Midlands Trains, said: “We have some fantastic people and Great Service Awards are a fantastic opportunity to recognise all the hard work and commitment that they opt in on behalf of our customers.


“This year we received a new record 1,616 nominations, which made picking a winner in each category extremely challenging but it was fantastic to see so many staff recognised, particularly with so many nominations coming from our customers.”

The full list of winners from the 2015 Great Service Awards:




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

arrow2Follow TTW
facebook-logo  twitter-logo  LinkedIn_logo  stumbleupon-logo   rss_logo 
ttw_blogger_logo  ttw_blogger_logo  ttw_blogger_logo


  • 01 AIME 2018 BB
  • 02 WTM 2017
  • 03 EMITT 2018
  • 04 AIME-2018 small
  • 05 iitmindia 2017
  • 06 imtm 2018
  • 06 TTF-Surat 2017
  • 30 PATA


Get our toolbar!
Review on