Tourists and businesses to benefit from 50 new free Wi-Fi hotspots

Published on : Thursday, May 14, 2015

Tourism TasmaniaThe Hodgman Liberal Government’s $500,000 investment in free Wi-Fi will enhance the tourist experience in approximately 50 locations across Tasmania.



We allocated $500,000 in last year’s budget for the Wi-Fi rollout which will boost the visitor experience and give tourists the opportunity to create and share their experience of Tasmania online.



It will support local communities by allowing local businesses to provide online information about attractions and opportunities in the area directly to tourists while they are in the region. Encouraging Tasmanian businesses to capitalise on the digital economy is a key part of the Government’s information technology strategy.



A Request for Proposals (RFP) has been released today seeking a single operator to build, operate and maintain wireless broadband network(s) using Wi-Fi Technology in approximately 50 locations around the state.



Indicative proposed locations have been included in the RFP to allow potential providers to make an informed assessment of how they would establish the network and ensure its ongoing support and maintenance. The final decision on the areas that receive services under this project will be dependent on the proposals provided by the respondents. The list of locations will be finalised in further consultation with the tourism industry and the successful proponent.



The indicative proposed locations listed in the RFP include high profile tourism destinations, points of entry and areas nominated by the state’s four Regional Tourism Organisations.

Nominated Location Site
1 Freycinet National Park Freycinet Visitor Information Centre
2 Scamander Scamander Visitor Information Mushroom
3 Binalong Bay Binalong Bay lookout
4 St Helens St Helens Main Street
5 Ironhouse Point White Sands Estate
6 Apslawn Devil’s Corner, Sherbourne Road
7 Launceston Cataract Gorge
8 Launceston Inveresk Precinct (ie QVMAG)
9 Launceston Seaport Precinct (ie Peppers Hotel)
10 Longford JJ Bakery (54 Wellington St) or Junction retail location (corner of Wellington & Marlborough Streets)
11 Deloraine Shopping strip (central Emu Bay Rd location alongside the river)
12 George Town Opposite Regent Square (ie central Macquarie St)
13 Derby Tin Dragon Interpretation Centre (Tasman Hwy)
14 Campbell Town Town centre shopping strip
15 Beaconsfield Beaconsfield Heritage Centre (West St)
16 Evandale Corner of Russell & Scone Street or Falls Park (location of market)
17 King Island King Island Airport
18 Devonport Mersey River Precinct
(from the Mouth of the Mersey to the TT Line Terminal with an emphasis on the Eastern foreshore)
19 Strahan Strahan Waterfront
20 Cradle Mountain Cradle Mountain Visitor Centre
21 Stanley Stanley Main Street
22 Queenstown Queenstown Railway Station Precinct
23 Burnie Burnie Makers Precinct
24 Sheffield Sheffield Mural Park
25 Zeehan Zeehan Main Street (Heritage Precinct)
26 Waratah Athenaeum Hall
27 Hobart Hobart waterfront through to Elizabeth Street
28 Richmond Location to be defined
29 Kettering Kettering Ferry Terminal
30 Oatlands Callington Mill/Main Street
31 Glenorchy Wilkinson’s Point
32 Sorell Main Street Visitor Centre and Park
33 New Norfolk High Street/Willow Court
34 Geeveston Church Street
35 Lake St Clair Lake St Clair Visitor Centre
36 Eaglehawk Neck Blowhole Car Park
37 Hobart Hobart Airport
38 Launceston Launceston Airport
39 Devonport Spirit of Tasmania terminal
40 Whitemark Flinders Island Airport
41 Wynyard Burnie Airport
42 Devonport Devonport Airport
43 Port Arthur Port Arthur Historic Site
44 Bridport Main Street (opposite Village Green)
45 Ross Ross Bakery (Church Street)
46 Whitemark IGA Supermarket (Patrick Street)
47 Latrobe Station Square
48 Currie Currie Shopping Precinct
49 Bothwell Australasian Golf Museum & Visitor Centre
50 Cygnet Mary Street


Source:- Tourism Tasmania


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

arrow2Follow TTW
facebook-logo  twitter-logo  LinkedIn_logo  stumbleupon-logo   rss_logo 
ttw_blogger_logo  ttw_blogger_logo  ttw_blogger_logo


  • 01 AIME 2018 BB
  • 02 WTM 2017
  • 03 EMITT 2018
  • 04 AIME-2018 small
  • 05 iitmindia 2017
  • 06 TTF-Surat 2017
  • 30 PATA


Get our toolbar!
Review on