U.S. Secretary of Commerce named Thella F. Bowens to TTAB

Published on : Tuesday, June 14, 2016

san diegoU.S. Secretary of Commerce Penny Pritzker announced the appointment of Airport Authority President/CEO Thella F. Bowens to the Travel and Tourism Advisory Board (TTAB). First chartered in 2003, TTAB serves as the advisory body to the Secretary of Commerce on matters relating to the travel and tourism industry in the United States. The board members represent a broad spectrum of the travel industry, including hotels and restaurants, financial services, transportation services, as well as a variety of small and large firms spanning across the country.



“Airports are vital gateways that feed the travel and tourism sector,” said Thella F. Bowens, Airport Authority President/CEO. “With San Diego being one of the top 10 visitor and meeting destinations in the U.S., it is important to have a seat at the table when the industry is discussed at the national level.”




The Board provides advice that helps the government address emerging issues affecting the travel sector, prioritize travel and tourism policies that will stimulate growth, and solve industry-related problems at many levels. Board members collaborate with other government agencies as part of the Tourism Policy Council, which furthered the development of the President’s National Travel and Tourism Strategy.



“The Commerce Department works closely with TTAB to enhance U.S. exports in the travel and tourism sector,” said Pritzker. “The preceding Board provided insight on the Administration’s National Travel and Tourism Strategy and analyzed complex travel issues ranging from advocacy to infrastructure and sustainability. I look forward to working with the new Board as we continue our efforts in promoting growth and creating jobs in the industry.”



Ms. Bowens is a member of the California Airports Council Board of Directors, a member of the World Governing Board of Airports Council International, and a board member of the American Association of Airport Executives Policy Review Committee.  In 2010 she served as a member of the Department of Transportation Secretary Ray LaHood’s Future of Aviation Advisory Committee, and in 2012 she was the Chair of Airports Council International–North America (ACI-NA).

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

arrow2Follow TTW
facebook-logo  twitter-logo  LinkedIn_logo  stumbleupon-logo   rss_logo 
ttw_blogger_logo  ttw_blogger_logo  ttw_blogger_logo


  • 01 AIME 2018 BB
  • 02 WTM Latin America 2018
  • 03 EMITT 2018
  • 04 AIME-2018 small
  • 05 itb-china 2018
  • 06 Central & Eastern Europe 2018
  • 06 imtm 2018
  • 06 TTF-2018
  • 07 balttour 2018
  • 08 OTM 2018
  • 09 The hotel shows audiarabia 18
  • 10 hotelfair 2018
  • 11 Digital Travel 2018
  • 30 PATA


Get our toolbar!
Review www.travelandtourworld.com on alexa.com