Valentina Scandolara returns for Santos Women’s Tour title in 2016

Published on : Thursday, December 10, 2015

Santos Women’s TourThe winner of the inaugural Santos Women’s Tour in 2015 ORICA-AIS, Valentina Scandolara, has confirmed she will be back to attempt to defend the title next year.


Tourism Minister Leon Bignell said it was great news for the Santos Women’s Tour to have the champion return along with her new pro outfit Cylance Pro Cycling Team.


“Scandolara’s victory marked the Italian’s first professional stage race win with her claiming victory by only six seconds from fellow ORICA-AIS team mate Melissa Hoskins,” he said.


“It is always good to have the current winner fighting to retain their title and with the elevation of the race’s UCI status we are expecting strong competition.


“The Santos Women’s Tour was introduced for the first time in 2015, as part of the Subaru National Road Series race. It was a huge success with a record 95 entries and 17 teams involved with the final stage in Victoria Park. The event attracted more than 4000 spectators.”


Valentina Scandolara is one of a nine member team roster making up the Cylance Pro Cycling Team.


“I had such a great experience here in Adelaide at the Santos Women’s Tour this year, the support we received from the crowd was amazing,” she said.


“I am really excited about the prospects with my new team and being able to compete at a UCI 2.2 level event against other international teams and Australian teams will be a great way to start the year.


“I am really looking forward to racing and once again being able to start my season in Australia.

“I have wonderful memories of my time in South Australia and it will always hold a special place in my heart as it is where I won my first professional stage race,” she said.


The Cylance Pro Cycling Team will be new to the UCI Women’s circuit in 2016 as a brand new pro team to take to the start line for the season. Cycling fans can follow the team at


The Santos Women’s Tour will be held from January 16 – 19 next year.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

arrow2Follow TTW
facebook-logo  twitter-logo  LinkedIn_logo  stumbleupon-logo   rss_logo 
ttw_blogger_logo  ttw_blogger_logo  ttw_blogger_logo


  • 01 AIME 2018 BB
  • 02 WTM 2017
  • 03 EMITT 2018
  • 04 AIME-2018 small
  • 05 iitmindia 2017
  • 06 imtm 2018
  • 06 TTF-Surat 2017
  • 07 balttour 2018
  • 30 PATA


Get our toolbar!
Review on