Visitor magnet on Pentecost weekend: Formula E race in Berlin for the first time

Published on : Friday, May 22, 2015

download (11)Racing around Tempelhofer Feld with a 270 hp electric engine: The FIA Formula E race is coming to Berlin on 23 May. Ten teams with two drivers and four electric-powered racing cars each will meet on the track set up on what used to be the tarmac of the former Tempelhof Airport. Joining in are some old favourites from the world of racing: Former Formula 1 drivers Nick Heidfeld and Jarno Trulli are among those competing for a spot on the podium in Berlin. The eco-friendly race is a perfect fit with the German capital, the greenest city in Europe, and will attract many visitors.

Top-notch day of racing with a varied programme
The day will run at full throttle from 8 in the morning until 9 at night: Before the race starts at 4 o’clock, motor sport fans can come out to watch the practice and qualifying runs in person. Plus there will be plenty to do in the eVillage for fans, including an e-bike stunt show and an autograph session with the drivers. A party after the awards ceremony will close out the day’s fun.

Berlin is hosting the eighth of the eleven races in the motorsport series launched in 2014. The first match-up took place in Beijing in September last year. After stops in major international cities such as Buenos Aires, Miami, and Monte Carlo, the tour heads to London on 28 June 2015 to battle it out for the overall victory.

Berlin, the City of Sports
Whether at Tempelhofer Feld, Olympic Stadium, or Max-Schmeling-Halle, Berlin is repeatedly the stage for major sporting events. Among the annual highlights are the ISTAF international athletics meeting, the DFB men’s football cup, and the BMW Berlin Marathon. In addition, six pro sports clubs playing in five sports make Berlin the capital of sport.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

arrow2Follow TTW
facebook-logo  twitter-logo  LinkedIn_logo  stumbleupon-logo   rss_logo 
ttw_blogger_logo  ttw_blogger_logo  ttw_blogger_logo


  • 01 AIME 2018 BB
  • 02 WTM 2017
  • 03 EMITT 2018
  • 04 AIME-2018 small
  • 05 iitmindia 2017
  • 06 TTF-Surat 2017
  • 30 PATA


Get our toolbar!
Review on