VisitScotland: Scottish attractions shortlisted as Britain’s best

Published on : Thursday, December 24, 2015

Scottish attractionsSeven top Scottish locations have been shortlisted as the UK’s finest by a leading national publication.BBC Countryfile Magazine is asking the public to vote for their favourites and choose the winners in its prestigious 2015/16 Awards.


The annual awards, which are now in their fifth year, celebrate the UK countryside and its people – from great heritage attractions and favourite holiday destinations, to the best nature reserves and rural pubs.


The Scottish contenders battling it out with stiff competition from Britain’s best across the awards’ 11 categories are:



The shortlist of nominees for each category was drawn up by a panel of experts selected by BBC Countryfile Magazine. They included BBC presenters John Craven, Ellie Harrison, Chris Packham and Miranda Krestovnikoff, writers Simon Barnes, Dixe Wills and Matt Swaine; photographer Guy Edwardes, BBC Gardener’s World editor Lucy Hall, Good Pub Guide editor Fiona Stapley and BBC Countryfile Magazine art editor Tim Bates.


Malcolm Roughead, Chief Executive at VisitScotland said: “It’s fantastic that so many wonderful Scottish locations have been shortlisted as nominees in this year’s BBC Countryfile Magazine Awards. They are all a great asset to Scottish tourism and definitely deserve to be national winners so I would encourage as many people as possible to take the time to vote for each of them to acknowledge just how wonderful and appreciated they are.”


Fergus Collins, editor of BBC Countryfile Magazine, commented: “With increasing pressures on the countryside and wider natural environment, it’s even more vital to shout about what makes rural Britain so special. Our annual awards help champion our landscapes, our wildlife and our country heroes. This year’s nominees representthe best of rural Britain and are exceptional examples of what the UK’s countryside has to offer.”Unsurprisingly, the wonders of Scotland are well represented in this year’s awards.”

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

arrow2Follow TTW
facebook-logo  twitter-logo  LinkedIn_logo  stumbleupon-logo   rss_logo 
ttw_blogger_logo  ttw_blogger_logo  ttw_blogger_logo


  • 01 AIME 2018 BB
  • 02 WTM 2017
  • 03 EMITT 2018
  • 04 AIME-2018 small
  • 05 iitmindia 2017
  • 06 imtm 2018
  • 06 TTF-Surat 2017
  • 07 balttour 2018
  • 30 PATA


Get our toolbar!
Review on