WTTC announces 2016 Tourism for Tomorrow Awards Winners

Published on : Thursday, April 7, 2016

wttcThe World Travel & Tourism Council (WTTC) is pleased to announce the Winners of the 2016 Tourism for Tomorrow Awards.


The Awards, which were presented at a special ceremony during the 16th WTTC Global Summit in Dallas, Texas, USA showcase business leadership in sustainable tourism, celebrating ground breaking and inspiring initiatives across five categories.


The 2016 Winners are:


Community Award:               Expediciones Sierra Norte, Mexico

Destination Award:                Parkstad Limburg, Netherlands

Environment Award:             The Botswana Rhino Conservation Project by Wilderness Safaris, Botswana

Innovation Award:                 Carmacal Carbon Calculator by ANVR – The Netherlands Travel Trade Association, Netherlands

People Award:                       Youth Career Initiative, United Kingdom & worldwide


Each year a group of independent judges from the private sector, academic institutions, non-profit organisations and government come together to select the Finalists and Winners of the Awards. The three-stage judging process is extremely rigorous and includes thorough on-site evaluations of all finalists. This year it involved 36 judges and over 60 days of work in the field.


David Scowsill, President and CEO, WTTC, says: “The 2016 winners of the Tourism for Tomorrow Awards are truly inspirational examples of tourism that has a long term vision.  In a world of shrinking resources, with increasing pressure on cultural heritage and local traditions, these organisations are living proof that Travel & Tourism can be a force for good. These companies are showing clear leadership in the industry.”


Fiona Jeffery, Chair of the Tourism for Tomorrow Awards, said: “This year’s Awards has yet again been an example of extraordinary business leadership in sustainable tourism. I would like to thank our team of international judges lead by Professor Graham Miller, who are so crucial to the rigor and credibility of the Awards. The 2016 finalists were of the highest caliber, whilst praising the winners I would also emphasize that all the Tourism for Tomorrow Awards finalists are pioneers in their field. By sharing best practice across tourism businesses, private sector and governments we can ensure that tourism continues to grow responsibly and ethically.”


Jeff Rutledge, CEO of AIG Travel, the Headline Sponsor of the awards, said “Sustainability is an issue of global importance in all industries, and the winners of the Tourism for Tomorrow Awards are leading the way in Travel and Tourism by driving social and environmental impact in the communities in which they operate. We should all be inspired by what they have achieved.”


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

arrow2Follow TTW
facebook-logo  twitter-logo  LinkedIn_logo  stumbleupon-logo   rss_logo 
ttw_blogger_logo  ttw_blogger_logo  ttw_blogger_logo


  • 01 AIME 2018 BB
  • 02 WTM Latin America 2018
  • 03 EMITT 2018
  • 04 AIME-2018 small
  • 05 itb-china 2018
  • 06 Central & Eastern Europe 2018
  • 06 imtm 2018
  • 06 TTF-2018
  • 07 balttour 2018
  • 07 ibtm arabia 2018
  • 08 mice-arabia 18
  • 08 OTM 2018
  • 09 The hotel shows audiarabia 18
  • 10 hotelfair 2018
  • 10 miceforum 18
  • 11 Digital Travel 2018
  • 30 PATA


Get our toolbar!
Review www.travelandtourworld.com on alexa.com