AirAsia travellers to pay check in fee at airport counters

Published on : Wednesday, September 9, 2020

AirAsia recently announced that they will soon introduce a check in charge at the airport counters. Those who have not used the online platform or the mobile app for checking, will now have to pay an amount of 20 Malaysian ringgit (£3.60) for domestic flights, rising to 30 Malaysian ringgit (£5.40) for international flights. However,  some exceptions may be applied to special cases like passengers with low mobility condition and some premium fliers.

Javed Malik, AirAsia group chief operations officer opined that the new decision will reduce man to man contact and would help in decreasing chances of virus spread. The pandemic has forced digital advancement and hence they have invested immensely in digital upgradation, he added further.

In times of Covid-19 pandemic self –checks at airport have become important. The pandemic has led to havoc and Asia’s budget airlines, AirAsia is one of the worst sufferers as it has reported its biggest quarterly loss in history in August, with revenue down 96 per cent and staff cuts of 30 per cent. The company has applied for bank loans.

The founder of the brand, Tony Fernandes also mentioned that this crisis has forced him to look beyond the regular ways of earning money and hence he is weaving up plans to raise fund.

However, amidst the mayhem he found light at the end of the tunnel, as he made it clear that the pandemic has helped in making them aware of other possibilities and now they have explored the digital platform like never before. Hence, new business scopes are underway.

Related Posts

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

arrow2Follow TTW
facebook-logo  twitter-logo  LinkedIn_logo  rss_logo 
ttw_blogger_logo  ttw_blogger_logo


  • 05 EMITT 2021
  • 13 IITM 2022
  • 15 SATTE 2022
  • 16 Conventa 2022
  • 16 SAHIC 2022



      January 16 - January 22
    2. FITUR

      January 19 - January 23

      January 19 - January 20
    4. MATKA 2021

      January 20 - January 23
    5. TTF Chennai

      January 21 - January 23