Australia’s state borders set to reopen soon

 Thursday, January 28, 2021 


Australia’s most populous state of New South Wales recently recorded its 11th day of zero local coronavirus cases allowing neighbouring Queensland state to lift border restrictions while Victoria state also hinted at relaxing travel with Sydney. Australian states imposed quarantine or hard border restrictions for travellers from New South Wales after an outbreak in Sydney in late December, putting an end to the Christmas holiday plans of thousands of Australians.

The Sydney clusters have now been curbed, giving other states the confidence to reopen borders. Queensland Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk said her state would welcome New South Wales residents from February 1. The south eastern state of Victoria, which is hosting the Australia Open tennis grand slam, also hinted at changing border settings with Sydney on Friday. The state recorded its 22nd day of zero local cases. Victoria introduced a permit system for all travellers which allows for areas to be designated as green, orange or red according to their risk. Travellers from a red zone are not permitted into Victoria while those from an orange zone will need to take a coronavirus test within three days of arrival.

Palaszczuk said in a press statement that she wants to see families and friends reunited and said that authorities are aware how important that New South Wales market is, so for those currently in Sydney and looking for an escape, there is no better place than the tropical far north. Victoria Premier Daniel Andrews added that he hopes to no red zones in New South Wales, and a much larger green zone although some remnants of a couple of areas will continue to remain orange.

« Back to Page

Related Posts


Subscribe to our Newsletter

I want to receive travel news and trade event update from Travel And Tour World. I have read Travel And Tour World's Privacy Notice.

Aug 18
August 18 - August 21
Sep 02
September 2 - September 4
Sep 06
September 6 - September 8
Sep 10
September 10 - September 11