Austria to permit travel from European Union-Schengen countries

Published on : Friday, April 30, 2021

The authorities in Austria have announced their plans to reopen and ease their imposed COVID-19 preventive measures starting from May 19 in an effort to help the country recover from the devastating situation caused by the coronavirus pandemic.

According to Schengen visa, the announcement has been confirmed by Austrian Chancellor Sebastian Kurz, adding that other sectors such as tourism, sports and restaurants will also resume their work.

However, entry requirements will be put in place to prevent an upsurge in the number of COVID-19 infections.

Kurz pointed out that the light at the end of the tunnel is near, pointed out in a press conference while unfolding the country’s opening plans for May.

According to statistics published by Worldometers, a total of 612,170 persons have tested positive for the Coronavirus disease, in Austria, up to this point, while 10,126 persons have died.

Austria is the 37th most infected country worldwide. More than 577,970 persons have fully recovered from the virus in this country, while there are 24,067 active cases.

Such figures pushed Austria’s government to tighten its preventive measures in order to keep the COVID-19 situation under control.

Currently, the country remains under lockdown, permitting only essential travel, while some industries such as tourism are frozen.

The majority of arrivals are obliged to stay self-isolated for ten days upon their arrival and additionally show a negative result of the Coronavirus test. All persons wishing to enter Austria are required to register digitally in advance to obtain the “pre-travel clearance” form.

According to authorities in Austria, the travellers planning to enter the country from Australia, New Zealand, Iceland, South Korea, Singapore will be eligible to do so without following additional rules such as quarantine or prove that they have tested negative for the COVID-19 disease as these territories are considered safe.

Except for the countries mentioned above, all other countries worldwide are considered risk areas based on their COVID-19 situation, which means that citizens of other countries worldwide must follow test and quarantine requirements. However, citizens who need to travel for business purposes or other emergency cases will be exempted from quarantine rules.



Related Posts

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

arrow2Follow TTW
facebook-logo  twitter-logo  LinkedIn_logo  rss_logo 
ttw_blogger_logo  ttw_blogger_logo


  • 03 ITB Asia 2021
  • 13 aaaexpos 21
  • 15 MENA 2021
  • 17 ATM21
  • 17 The-Hotel-Show21
  • 18 globalwellnesssummit  21
  • 30 PATA


    1. FIT CUBA 2021

      May 3 - May 8

      May 9 - May 11
    3. TOUREST 2021

      May 14 - May 15
    4. Arabian Travel Market

      May 16 - May 19

      May 16 - May 19
Get our toolbar!
Review on