Canada extends international travel restrictions for another month

 Tuesday, November 3, 2020 


Canada has decided to extend its international travel restrictions that are currently in place for another month in order to curb the spread of the COVID-19 virus. The latest travel restriction has been extended until to November 30, 2020. The restrictions had been in place since March and were initially due to expire on October 31. The official announcement of the extension was made by Public Safety Canada.

With the latest restriction Canada enters the eighth month of active travel restrictions and with several places around the world being effected with a second wave of the pandemic, it is also likely that the restrictions in Canada will be extended further. The new restrictions cover travellers arriving from a foreign country other than the United States as the travel ban affecting the Canada-U.S. border is covered by a separate agreement that is set to expire on November 21, 2020 as of now.

Citizens and permanent residents, plus their immediate and extended family members, are exempted from travel restrictions. Students from Canada and the U.S. who cross the border to attend school, along with one driver, as well as children who are subject to shared custody arrangements, along with one parent, have also been exempted from the restrictions. Immediate and extended family members of people registered under the Indian Act have also been added to the exemptions list as of October 31, 2020.

As part of the latest extension of the international travel restrictions, Canada has decided to allow limited exemptions to mandatory quarantine in order to enable COVID-testing pilot projects, in coordination with provincial authorities. Anyone not covered by the exemption is required to quarantine for 14 days on arrival in Canada, and provide border officers with a viable quarantine plan.

Ottawa has made few practical adjustments to the rules as of October 31, and is currently allowing residents of Campobello Island, New Brunswick; Stewart, British Columbia; Northwest Angle, Minnesota; and Hyder, Alaska to be exempted from mandatory 14-day quarantine to access the necessary essentials of life.

« Back to Page

Related Posts


Subscribe to our Newsletter

I want to receive travel news and trade event update from Travel And Tour World. I have read Travel And Tour World's Privacy Notice.

Feb 01
Feb 02
February 2 - February 5
Feb 02
February 2 - February 4
Feb 03
February 3 - February 5