City of Jaipur next in the list of UNESCO World Heritage Sites

 Thursday, August 2, 2018 


City of Jaipur UNESCO World Heritage SitesThe walled city of Jaipur in Rajasthan is the next in the list of proposed site for UNESCO World Heritage recognition, said the Minister of State for Culture Mahesh Sharma in the Rajya Sabha on Tuesday.

As per the 2017 UNESCO operational guidelines for the implementation of the world heritage convention, only one site can be nominated by the state party every year.

Sharma said, “(The recognition) impacts the local economy by giving a boost to domestic and international tourism leading to increased employment generation, the creation of world-class infrastructure and augmentation of the sale of local handicrafts, handlooms and heritage memorabilia.”

Currently, there are 37 World Heritage sites in India, with most under the protection of the Archaeological Survey of India (ASI), including the Taj Mahal, Agra Fort, Ajanta Caves, Ellora Caves, Fatehpur Sikri and the Red Fort complex.

The most recent addition to the list was Victorian and Art Deco Ensembles of Mumbai, which became a World Heritage site this year.


« Back to Page

Related Posts


Subscribe to our Newsletter

I want to receive travel news and trade event update from Travel And Tour World. I have read Travel And Tour World's Privacy Notice.

Sep 26
September 26 - September 28
Sep 29
September 29 - September 30
Oct 03
Oct 04
October 4 - October 6