Europe reopens for tourists after a year

 Saturday, June 12, 2021 


Europe is gradually reopening for Americans and other visitors after being shut for more than a year due to corona virus restrictions. However, travelers will have to be patient to find out regarding who’s allowed into which country, how and when.

As the European Union’s 27 countries reopen one by one for global travelers for the first time since March 2020, tourists will discover a patchwork of systems instead of a single border-free leisure zone, since national governments are vigilant about protecting the frontiers in the midst of the pandemic. And post-Brexit, Britain is going its own way altogether.

However, U.S. borders remain largely closed to non-Americans, including Europeans.

The 27-nation EU has no unified COVID tourism or border policy. But it is working towards a joint digital travel certificate for those vaccinated, freshly tested or recently recovered from the virus. EU lawmakers endorsed the plan on Wednesday.

The free certificates containing a QR code with advanced security features, will permit people to travel between EU countries without any quarantine or extra corona virus tests upon arrival.

Several EU countries have already started using the system, like Spain, Germany, Greece, Bulgaria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Denmark and Poland. The rest are expected to beginning it from July 1.

« Back to Page

Related Posts



Subscribe to our Newsletters

I want to receive travel news and trade event update from Travel And Tour World. I have read Travel And Tour World's Privacy Notice.

Jul 01
Jul 05
Aug 04