Otago’s taxation in Labour led government’s to-do list

Published on : Wednesday, November 15, 2017

OtagoOtago is a region of New Zealand in the south of the South Island administered by the Otago Regional Council, said that the taxation at the border remains on the Labour-led Government’s to-do list.




Tourism Minister Kelvin Davis says that the taxation from the tourists will be prevalent.




In his first major speech since taking on the portfolio, Tourism Minister Kelvin Davis told a Tourism Industry Aotearoa conference in Wellington a levy on international tourists was one way of responding to the sudden growth in visitor numbers. This would also ensure a sustainable source of funding for tourism infrastructure, conservation and training tourism sector workers. There has been substantial growth in the tourism sector over recent years that have exceeded expectations of both the private and public sector.As a matter of consequence;  the shortfalls in services have emerged in some location They know that the regions need improved tourism infrastructure, from toilet facilities to car parks to telecommunications.




While announcing the policy in August, Labour-led then-tourism spokesman Kris Faafoi said a $25 levy would raise an estimated $75million a year. There are sixty percent ($45million a year) would be used to grow the tourism industry and 40% ($30million a year) would be used to protect biodiversity and properly fund conservation.




Because Labour and New Zealand First’s coalition agreement is silent on tourism, Labour’s policy is expected to prevail.



Related Posts

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

arrow2Follow TTW
facebook-logo  twitter-logo  LinkedIn_logo  rss_logo 
ttw_blogger_logo  ttw_blogger_logo


  • 05 EMITT 2021
  • 13 IITM 2022
  • 15 SATTE 2022
  • 16 Conventa 2022
  • 16 SAHIC 2022



      January 16 - January 22
    2. FITUR

      January 19 - January 23

      January 19 - January 20
    4. MATKA 2021

      January 20 - January 23
    5. TTF Chennai

      January 21 - January 23