Santorini Experience 2019 will boost tourism this autumn

Published on : Friday, September 13, 2019

“Santorini Experience” is approaching, as in October 4-6, the unique running and swimming races will take place for the 5th consecutive year in Santorini, the world-famous tourist destination of unparalleled beauty.


Santorini Experience will attract once again the global interest, where both professional and amateur athletes will participate in running and open water swimming races. The running races will take place on Saturday October 5, 2019 and the open water swimming on Sunday October 6, 2019 against the backdrop of the iconic Cycladic Island.



In particular, on Saturday 05/10, the races of 15 km by Samsung and 10 km will start at 08:15 am, while the 5 km “Aristides Alafouzos” race will start at 11:00 am. All races have as starting point the Desalination Plant located in Oia.



On Sunday 06/10, swimming will take place with the eruptive atmosphere of the volcano. Participants will swim the 1.5 miles (2.4 km) route from the volcano to the old port of Fira with the imposing view of the island in front of them at the Open Water Swimming by Vikos. The race will start at 10:00 am from the volcano. Swimming is held under the technical direction of federal coach and director, Nikos Gemelos, with the approval of the Hellenic Swimming Federation, following the FINA regulations and the safety provided by Boatmen Union Santorini, Lifeguard Patrol, Voluntary Lifeguards of Santorini, Atlantis Dive Center and Santorini Nautical Club.




This year’s event will feature the silver Olympic medalist in open water swimming Spyros Gianniotis, Japanese Olympic champion in Rio, Yasunari Hirai and the dynamic presence of the elite of the Greek National Open Water Swimming Team such as world champion Kelly Araouzou, European champion George Arniakos and Greek champions Dimitris Negris, Stellina Aplanti, Dimitris Manios, the twin Greek expatriates racing with the colors of the national team of Netherlands, George and Timos Skotadis, as well as Andreas Georgakopoulos, Irene Diakoumakou, Maria Filopoulou, Konstantinos Konstantineskou, Panagiotis Alogakos, Maria Kirykou, Triantafyllia Diakoumakou and Melina Trochalaki.



Related Posts

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

arrow2Follow TTW
facebook-logo  twitter-logo  LinkedIn_logo  rss_logo 
ttw_blogger_logo  ttw_blogger_logo


  • 05 EMITT 2021
  • 16 SAHIC 2022
  • 30 PATA


    1. Czech TRAVEL MARKET

      November 30 - December 1

      December 2 - December 4

      December 4 - December 6
    4. ILTM Cannes

      December 6 - December 9

      January 15, 2022 - January 16, 2022