Thai cabinet approves waiver on visa-on-arrival fee for tourists

Published on : Saturday, November 10, 2018

In a bid to help promote Thailand as a tourist destination to Chinese people, the Thai Cabinet has agreed to waive the Bt2,000 visa-on-arrival fee for tourists from 21 countries for 60 days to rev up one of the main engines of economic growth.


Thailand has seen a continuous decrease in the number of tourists, more than 10 per cent over the past three months, said Government spokesman Puttipong Punnakanta.


The number of tourists coming through Suvarnabhumi Airport in 2016 and 2017 were 3.1 million and 2.2 million respectively, he said, but from January to September this year, the number had declined to 1.7 million.  It is hoped the visa-fee exemption will attract 30 per cent more tourists and help generate more income for the tourism industry and the entire economy, he said.


The proposal was made to the Cabinet by the Immigration Bureau to boost falling tourist numbers over the peak New Year holiday season.


From Dec 1 until the end of January, tourists from 20 countries plus Taiwan, whose nationals are already entitled to a visa on arrival, will be able to enjoy the fee waiver as “a New Year’s gift”. The duration of stay, however, will remain unchanged at 15 days.



Passport holders of Andorra, Bulgaria, Bhutan, China, Cyprus, Ethiopia, Fiji, India, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Maldives, Malta, Mauritius, Papua New Guinea, Romania, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Ukraine, Uzbekistan and Taiwan can take advantage of the waiver.


Related Posts


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

arrow2Follow TTW
facebook-logo  twitter-logo  LinkedIn_logo  rss_logo 
ttw_blogger_logo  ttw_blogger_logo


  • 05 EMITT 2021
  • 13 IITM 2022
  • 15 SATTE 2022
  • 16 Conventa 2022
  • 16 SAHIC 2022



      January 16 - January 22
    2. FITUR

      January 19 - January 23

      January 19 - January 20
    4. MATKA 2021

      January 20 - January 23
    5. TTF Chennai

      January 21 - January 23