Tourism Minister of South Africa appointed as Deputy Chairperson of CAF

Published on : Friday, September 22, 2017

Tokozile XasaSouth Africa’s Tourism Minister Tokozile Xasa was elected as one of the deputy chairperson of the Regional Commission for Africa for 2 years term.



This new appointment was held during 22nd general Assembly of United Nations World Tourism Organisation (UNWTO) in China last week, which was held from 11 to 16 September 2017. In this high profile meeting held in China discussed about not only the tourism promotions of different countries, but also the tourism and its business culture.




Minister Xasa is also responsible for holding numerous conferences to promote the tourism destinations of Africa to the US and Chinese tourists. She is also the convener of tourism ministers in South African Development Authority after South Africa took a revolving chairmanship of the regional body.



There are 13 African countries, which are led by Minister Xasa in the travel and tourism portfolio and on the sidelines UNWTO General Assembly, which was held in Chengdu, China.




An informal session held by these female tourism ministers of Africa and took several progressive resolutions to further the Women in Tourism agenda.




The tourism ministers of African countries also undertook to divide the best practice and learn from one another in promoting women in the travel and tourism sector, tackle continent-wide challenges such as women trafficking, security and focus on connecting SMMEs with bigger industry players for mutual benefit.




Tokozile Xasa has also been a Member of the Executive Council (MEC) for Social Development; MEC for Housing, Local Government and Traditional Affairs; and MEC for Local Government and Traditional Affairs in the Eastern Cape.




Tokozile Xasa has also served itself in several portfolio committees, including Local Government and Traditional Affairs, the Premier’s Office, and Economic Affairs.




Tokozile Xasa has also served as the Deputy Minister of Tourism of the Republic of South Africa. It was the position, which she held from 11 May 2009 and was reappointed on 26 May 2014 until 30 March 2017.




(No Like Yet)

Related Posts

Tags: , , , ,

Comments are closed.

arrow2Follow TTW
facebook-logo  twitter-logo  LinkedIn_logo  rss_logo 
ttw_blogger_logo  ttw_blogger_logo


  • 03 ITB Asia 2021
  • 08 iitm 2021
  • 12 ttfotm 2021
  • 15 MENA 2021
  • 18 globalwellnesssummit  21
  • 30 PATA


    1. TTF Ahmedabad

      September 23 - September 25
    2. TTF Mumbai

      September 29 - October 1

      October 1 - October 3

      October 1 - October 3

      October 1 - October 3
Get our toolbar!
Review on