United Kingdom introduces $13 online visas for GCC countries and Jordan

 Friday, June 9, 2023 


The United Kingdom has announced a new £10 ($12.54) Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) visa scheme for Gulf Corporation Council and Jordanian nationals visiting the European country. This is making travel to the United Kingdom more affordable for millions in the Middle East.

The Gulf nationals paid £30 ($37.63) per visit to the United Kingdom, while Jordanians paid £100 ($125.42) for a visitor visa.

GCC states include Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, Qatar, Oman, Kuwait and Bahrain.

In June 2022, Britain introduced an Electronic Visa Waiver (EVW) scheme, which allowed GCC citizens to apply for authorization to travel to Britain online for £30. An EVW allows people to visit the UK for up to six months for tourism, business, study or medical treatment.

The new Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) visa scheme scheme will be implemented for Qatari nationals in October and for the rest of the GCC states and Jordan in February 2024.

The British Minister of State for the Middle East, North Africa and South Asia, Tariq Ahmad, said in a statement that he was “delighted” that Gulf and Jordanian nationals will be first to benefit from the new ETA scheme.

While Middle Eastern countries have been the first to benefit, the UK Home Office says the new ETA will eventually be available to more than 60 nationalities.

According to the Home Office, 790,000 people from GCC countries visited the UK in 2022, spending $2.5 billion during their stay.

Share On:

« Back to Page


Subscribe to our Newsletter

I want to receive travel news and trade event update from Travel And Tour World. I have read Travel And Tour World's Privacy Notice.

Sep 26
September 26 - September 28
Sep 29
September 29 - September 30
Oct 03
Oct 04
October 4 - October 6