United Kingdom travellers blocked from entering Netherlands

Published on : Tuesday, January 5, 2021

The UK travellers have been blocked from entering the Netherlands following the end of the Brexit transition period. The Dutch border police have turned away 10 British nationals since 1 January, after the UK officially left the European Union.

New coronavirus rules dictate that passengers arriving from non-EU countries will be permitted entry into the Netherlands only for essential reasons, not for leisure travel.

According to the UK Foreign Office, the Dutch government announced that from 1 January 2021, non-EU/EEA nationals and nationals of non-Schengen states, including UK nationals, “will not be permitted entry to the Netherlands for non-essential purposes due to EU-wide Covid-19 restrictions.” 

However, the measure does not apply to UK nationals who are legally resident in the Netherlands. These people will be allowed to re-enter the country provided they show proof of residence.

Before the UK officially left the EU, Britons were permitted to freely enter the Netherlands as long as they had a negative PCR test result.

It’s not the only country where British travellers are experiencing difficulties post-Brexit.

On the first weekend since the Brexit transition phase ended, UK residents of Spain seeking to return to their homes were wrongly turned away by British Airways staff at Heathrow as they prepared to fly home. With the ending of the transition, British passport-holders are no longer granted automatic access to the European Union. In addition, Spain – in common with many other EU countries – is imposing tough rules to try to minimise the spread of coronavirus.

Related Posts

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

arrow2Follow TTW
facebook-logo  twitter-logo  LinkedIn_logo  rss_logo 
ttw_blogger_logo  ttw_blogger_logo


  • 03 ITB Asia 2021
  • 08 iitm 2021
  • 12 ttfotm 2021
  • 18 globalwellnesssummit  21
  • 30 PATA


    1. TTF Ahmedabad

      September 23 - September 25
    2. TTF Mumbai

      September 29 - October 1

      October 1 - October 3

      October 1 - October 3

      October 1 - October 3