US issues new spring break travel advisory for Mexico after five killed in Cancun

 Friday, February 22, 2019 


The U.S. State Department has issued new travel warning for Americans travelling south of the border, specifically in certain Mexican states. All 31 states in Mexico have warnings in place. Five states are listed as ‘Do Not Travel’. The states that are under the ‘Do Not Travel’ list due to crime include Colima, Guerrero, Michoacan, Sinaloa and Tamaulipas.




The advisory states: “Exercise increased caution in Mexico due to crime. Some areas have increased risk.”  Violent crime, such as homicide, kidnapping, carjacking, and robbery, is widespread.




Last weekend, there was a deadly attack by four gunmen at a club in the popular tourist destination of Cancun. At least five people were killed and another five were wounded.





The State Department used four travel advisory levels. Level 1 means to exercise normal precautions, level 2 means to exercise increased caution, level 3 means to reconsider travel and level 4 means do not travel.




The state department said in their ‘High-Risk Area Travelers’ page, that additional risks include hostage-taking and serious injury. Traveling to high-risk locations can put the life of tourists in jeopardy. The U.S. government has limited ability to provide emergency services to U.S. citizens in many areas of Mexico.



« Back to Page

Related Posts


Subscribe to our Newsletter

I want to receive travel news and trade event update from Travel And Tour World. I have read Travel And Tour World's Privacy Notice.

Aug 18
August 18 - August 21
Sep 02
September 2 - September 4
Sep 06
September 6 - September 8
Sep 10
September 10 - September 11