Uzbekistan introduces visa-free travel for 45 countries

 Tuesday, January 8, 2019 


From February 1, 2019 onwards Uzbekistan will become all the more accessible by allowing visa-free travel for 45 more countries. This will also include the UK.


The nation had introduced e-visas to smoothen the process for visitors from approved countries along with nationals from France, Israel, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Singapore, South Korea and Turkey.



Uzbekistan’s President Shavkat Mirziyoyev wants to stimulate tourism.



From 15 January onwards the German tourists can visit without a visa. Visitors from countries including Cyprus, Austria and Italy and the UK since February onwards can avail the same privileged.



The national of 76 more countries will be covered under the existing e-visa scheme permitting double and multiple entries into the country.




After the visa reforms of 2018 visitor number to the Central Asian country got doubled. It went from 2.6 million to 5.3 million and the Ministry of Foreign Affairs expects a growth for 2019.


Due to the increase in flight routes the country will become more accessible to UK. In spring 2019 the Uzbekistan Airways will delivery two new Airbus A320neos and three Boeing 787 Dreamliners. This will enable to add new long-haul destinations.



Direct flights between London Heathrow and Tashkent will be provided by the flag carrier. It will further add a second UK airport during summer.



In recent times tourist interest in countries concerning the Silk Road route – Georgia, Azerbaijan and Kyrgyzstan has increased over the years.



Also previous restriction related to unmarried couples staying together was lifted. For pilgrims, students, academics and medical tourists new specialist will be issued within one month of application.

« Back to Page

Related Posts


Subscribe to our Newsletter

I want to receive travel news and trade event update from Travel And Tour World. I have read Travel And Tour World's Privacy Notice.

Aug 18
August 18 - August 21
Sep 02
September 2 - September 4
Sep 06
September 6 - September 8
Sep 10
September 10 - September 11