ASTA Corporate Advisory Council Elects New Leadership

 Tuesday, September 14, 2021 


At its August 25 meeting during the ASTA Global Convention in Chicago, IL, the American Society of Travel Advisor’s (ASTA) Corporate Advisory Council (CAC) set its Executive Committee leadership roster for the 2021-2022 term.

“The CAC is a critically important stakeholder group within ASTA and provides essential support to our advocacy and consumer awareness work,” said Zane Kerby, President & CEO of ASTA. “We commend Denise Jackson for her seven years of service on the CAC Executive Committee, congratulate Amanda Klimak on her election and look forward to working with the new leadership slate to move ASTA and our industry forward.”

During the meeting, Amanda Klimak, President & Co-Owner of Largay Travel in Waterbury, CT was elected by her peers to a two-year term as CAC Secretary, joining Michael Dixon (Chair) of Travelink/American Express in Nashville, TN and Kathy Bedell (Vice Chair) of BCD Travel in Dublin, OH on the CAC Executive Committee. Dixon and Bedell moved up the ladder with the departure of Denise Jackson of Balboa Travel, Inc. in San Diego, CA from the Executive Committee after seven years of service. Further, as part of the succession plan Dixon joins the Executive Committee of ASTA’s national Board of Directors and Bedell assumes a seat on the national board.

The CAC is made up of the heads of the largest travel agency/TMC, consortia, franchise organization, host agency and supplier members of ASTA. It was formed in the early 2000s to give a distinct voice to these large entities and to provide a support system for ASTA’s federal, state, and industry advocacy efforts, the foundation of the Society’s mission. The CAC focuses on issues of common interest to the travel agency community, formulating a strategy to speak with one voice before federal regulators, Members of Congress, state legislators as well as other industry groups.

During the August meeting, the CAC welcomed the following new members who joined the Council in 2021: American Airlines (allied member), Gifted Travel Network, Southwest Airlines (allied member) and Travel One, Inc.

« Back to Page

Related Posts



Subscribe to our Newsletter

I want to receive travel news and trade event update from Travel And Tour World. I have read Travel And Tour World's Privacy Notice.

Mar 23
Mar 24
March 24 - March 26
Mar 24
Mar 24
March 24 - March 26