Canada bans flights to the Caribbean and Mexico

Published on : Monday, February 1, 2021

Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau recently announced a new agreement with airlines to suspend travel to the Caribbean and Mexico due to COVID-19. The country’s main airlines, including Air Canada and WestJet, will end service immediately and organise return travel for those currently abroad. The government will also mandate new testing and three-day quarantine periods upon arrival in Canada amid reports of many Canadians travelling internationally this winter.

Prime Minister Trudeau also announced that Air Canada, WestJet, Sunwing, and Air Transat have agreed to suspend all flights to “sun” destinations such as the Caribbean effective Sunday, January 31. The measures will be in place until April 30. Trudeau also commended the leadership of these airlines in working in concert with the federal government to enact this measure. He also made it clear that the new moves are intended to discourage all unnecessary and vacation travel, not just to Mexico and the Caribbean and shared that by putting in place the tough measures at present, people can look forward to a better time, when everyone can plan all the vacations.

Related Posts

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

arrow2Follow TTW
facebook-logo  twitter-logo  LinkedIn_logo  rss_logo 
ttw_blogger_logo  ttw_blogger_logo


  • 03 ITB Asia 2021
  • 05 EMITT 2021
  • 08 iitm 2021
  • 18 globalwellnesssummit  21
  • 30 PATA


    1. HICAP

      October 20 - October 22
    2. MCE South Europe

      October 24 - October 26
    3. ILTM Latin America

      October 26 - October 29
    4. Taipei International Travel Fair

      November 5 - November 8
    5. Hainan World Leisure Tourism Expo 2021

      November 18 - November 21